Little Bee grows fast

I started putting away baby clothes in earnest today. Newborn have been done for weeks. 0-3 as well. And now, 3 month onesies are being packed away. Linnea is a big baby. She came out bigger than Darwin so her rate of growth is slightly slower, but she’s still got a half pound on her big sister for the same age. 

When I packed these clothes away slightly less than two years ago I was weepy. I blame hormones and exhaustion. This time it was more of a happiness that the last two and a half months have gone so well. Thrilled that our younger daughter is growing and healthy, and that Leah’s worry about not producing enough good milk didn’t come to pass. 

I did pause several times to wonder if and when we might pull these clothes out again. Eventually I assume they will be worn by another baby, possibly several (good quality clothes should go through many families after all). Will we unpack these clothes for another baby of our own? Will it be a baby I carry our Leah carries? Or will these boxes eventually be brought back down from our attic to be shared with friends as they birth children, or foster children, or adopt children? 

As I’ve written before, I don’t feel like we’re done. I never thought I wanted a big family until I suddenly realized I do. It’s possible that Linnea will be the last baby in our family. And I would be ok if that were true, I think. But I suspect it’s not. So for now the tiny onesies, sleepers, and hats get packed away and we continue to enjoy these two amazing kids we are so lucky to watch grow. 

4 thoughts on “Little Bee grows fast

  1. AmyApplesnail says:

    At just under 1 month Avery has already outgrown several pajamas and onesies. We have been putting them in a box to give to my sister-in-law because she definitely wants more kids, but we are currently 90% happy with one and 10% contemplating having another… So… I have been secretly setting aside my favourite pieces of outgrown clothing to NOT pass along to someone else, just in case… Do you keep all your clothes until you are done having kids, or do you lend them out on a borrow-only status in the meantime? I’m worried about losing track of my favourite pieces if they get lent out…

    Like

    • It’s amazing how fast they grow, isn’t it? I’ve held onto all the clothes we have wanted to reuse since our plan has always been to have kids close together. I’ve loaned out other things though (bouncers, etc). I’m not sure how we’re going to do it this time, since we aren’t 100% that we’ll try for more. But if we do it would probably be next summer, in order to keep close spacing and given the reality that we started having our babies in our 30s. We have passed a few things on because we have so many clothes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

