The to-do list

It has gotten particularly long lately, this “to-do” list. I’ve started working full time again, baby bee is only ~10 weeks away from arriving, Darwin has been clingy and whiny (oh holy hell I hope it’s teething and will resolve with four new molars soon), Leah is exhausted by pregnancy and trying to get through just one more term of her PhD program before baby bee’s arrival, and to top it off, it seems I’m trying to catch a cold. So, the “to-do’s” have increased as my time has dwindled. I’m going to write out my current schedule so that when I’m old I can remember when I was young and stupid.

Monday. 8:30-1 play with three incredibly cute kids. Feel exhausted by the end. 1:30/2- 5:15 go to work and try to get lots of things done. Except on days when there have to be chores done or the dog needs out to pee, or…5:30 pick up incredibly cute nearly-clone, run home to make food, bathe clone, try to walk the dog, pack clone up in the car to pick up Leah who has class until 7:50. Except when it goes until 8:05. Cry a little in the car while waiting. 8:30 Home, clone to bed with Leah. 9:00-11/12 work to make up for time missed in the morning. 11/12/1/? fall into bed. 11/12/1/? nurse the clone when she inevitably wakes five minutes after I fall asleep saying “nursseeeessss, nurrrrrrses” and banging on the bed from her co-sleeper. Sleep in 2 hour chunks until…

Tuesday. 7:30 try to peal myself out of bed when Leah brings me coffee. Clone stays asleep until we wake her. Usually at 7:50, because we have to be out the door by…8:05. 8:30-1 play with two incredibly cute kids. Feel a bit less exhausted by the end. 1:30/2-5:15 fun with coding/work. Try hard to get through anything urgent, which with my new (awesome) job is a lot of things that aren’t really urgent, but I need to make a good impression. Plus it’s really fun work. 5:30 to childcare swapper’s home ❤ for Tuesday night pizza. 7:30 take clone to grandparent’s house (three blocks away) for bath while Leah is at class until…8:30 Home, clone to bed with Leah. 9:00-11/12…repeat as on Monday night.

Wednesday. 7:30 try to peal myself out of bed with coffee. If up before this, shower. If not, use extra deodorant. Revel in the fact that WEDNESDAY is a full work day and I will get ALL THE THINGS done. 8:30 drop off Leah and clone at swapper house. 9-12 Three hours of solid work/check WordPress time (although seriously, the new job is far less of the latter). 12-1:30 Go get the toddlers down for their naps. 2-5:15 more work. 5:30 pick up clone. Decompress with swappers. ~6/6:30 Home, maybe more work while Leah makes dinner. Maybe clean up the wreck of a house (how does it get this dirty when we’re never home during the week? Eat dinner. 7:30 Bathe the clone or walk the dog while Leah does the other. 8/8:30 Convince the clone that it really is bedtime. 9-…repeat previous nightly schedule.

Thursday. 7:30 prop open eyes with toothpicks until at least 12 ounces of solid black coffee have been metabolized. Walk clone to the car in her pajamas because we’re just not having the getting dressed fight today. She does insist on wearing her “Bunny shoes! Hop Hop!” And exclaims “BUS!” and “TRUCK!” and “CAR!” while grinning the entire ride into town. 8:30 drop off Leah and clone, go to work for meeting at 9. 9-11:20 Work work work work work…11:20-2:30 Hang out with the two littles. Hope they nap well so I can…work work work. 2:30-5:15 work work work. 5:30 To the swapper’s for dinner before…7 pm swim class! Except every 3rd week of the month when I have a…6 pm meeting! then…7 pm swim class! Home by 8. ish. 8:30 bedtime for the clone. 9-…you get the idea on the nights…

….Phwew. Breathe. Which brings us to…

Friday. 7:30. Or 8. Wake up. Wake up again. Drink coffee. Scrape together remaining energy to get clone into the car and to…GRANDMA’S HOUSE! Yay! Aim for a 9 am drop off. 9-12/12:30 work work work. 12:30ish pick up clone. Chat with my mom before heading home for…1 pm nap the clone. Hope she goes to sleep quickly, but enjoy a mindless 20 minute episode of a stupid 90’s sitcom on tiny smartphone screen. 1/1:30-5:30/6ish go back to work and work work work. 6ish Home. If nothing is left hanging at work, take the night off. Eat dinner. Do all the chores that didn’t happen between 8:30-9 on all the week nights. 11 pm finish chores and…repeat every other night for this point.

Weekends. Fit in all the visiting with all the people we don’t see during the week who miss us. To all of you: I’m sorry if I seem tired and a little checked out. That’s exactly what I am.

Not included: Household chores. Yard work (that other thing I do on the weekend). Volunteering with the youth at our church. Saying hello to my wife. Reading books to the clone. Playing with the dog. Picking up after the dog. All the beer that is consumed in the course of this schedule.

9 thoughts on “The to-do list

  1. Whew! I was thinking ‘I wonder if my schedule would look that exhausting if I typed it all out?” Yeah, I doubt it. As fun as swim class is, 7pm swim class on a weeknight sounds exhausting! My son is about Darwin’s age- how is swim class for a toddler? We did a few classes when he was 6-7 months.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I’m definitely slightly over committed at the moment…I’ve been trying to think of what I can let go, and at the moment, I got nothin’.

      But, swim class is SO much more fun now. We did a class when Darwin turned 6 months old and didn’t do another until now. She splashes, kicks, blows bubbles, can climb out of the pool with just a little boost, is excited to jump into the water. She knows all the songs they do and loves to look at the giant inflatable orca they hang from the ceiling. I’m actually just getting ready to re-enroll her for summer classes!

      Like

      • Aw, that sounds really fun to experience with her. I wasn’t in love with the Kids First swimming classes we did, they had like 10 classes at once in the pool. I may explore around and see if there is anything run a little bit differently. One of the places around here has really wild yelp reviews about the aggressive, confrontational owner. Think we’ll pass one that one.

        Like

Leave a Reply

