The month long week

I’ve got to start this one with the disclaimer that we’re ok here. However,  I’ve been avoiding writing for the last week because writing things makes them more real to me. Since we’re in a holding pattern/things are a little better, I figure now is the right time to update the blog.

Last Wednesday our sweet, funny, rough-and-tumble nephew turned three whole years old! I love this kid with everything I am, and we are very excited that another nephew is on the way. Due date in March. And there’s the stress. In the afternoon I received one of those calls that puts your stomach in your throat. My mom called (our landline – which is unusual) and said that it wasn’t good news. My sister-in-law’s water had broken and she was in the hospital. She was 24 weeks pregnant. They were giving her steroids and magnesium and antibiotics. That was all we knew at that point.

Over the course of the next couple of days we learned that there was no known reason for the early break, that she was not in labor, that there was still fluid in the sack, and that the baby is doing quite well. On Tuesday her fluids actual increased. Then again today. They are now a week and a day in. 50 to 75% of women deliver in the first week after the membranes rupture. So far so good. One day at a time.

Needless to say, my mind has been wandering towards the east coast all week. Good thoughts in that general direction would be appreciated.

11 thoughts on “The month long week

  1. lifeasagaymom says:

    How frightening. I can only imagine how worried and stressed the momma is. That is nothing to mess around with. I hope she takes it very easy and everything turns around. It seems things are going in the right direction. Sending my thoughts her way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

