10 things you now know about me

Thanks to TheChronicalsofaNonBellyMama for tagging me on this one. I haven’t done one of these before, but it looks like fun!

ten-things-you-didnt-know

The rules are as follows:

  • Link back to the blogger who nominated you and answer their 10 questions
  • Add the badge to your post
  • Write your own 10 questions and tag 10 bloggers to do the same.

Question 1: What is your biggest fear?

This one’s easy. Anyone who knows me very well and rides in a car with me probably knows it because I mention it regularly. My biggest fear is hitting someone (particularly a child) with my car. I distinctly remember when I was 17 years old sitting in my car at a red light at the top of a hill and realizing how much power I held simply by keeping my foot on the break. It was terrifying. All the moreso now that I have a child of my own. It is a healthy fear though, in that it doesn’t stop me from driving, but does make me a very careful driver.

Question 2: What was your favorite toy growing up?

This one is a little harder. I had plenty of toys growing up, from baby dolls to trains, but nothing that really sticks out now (goes to show what’s important in the long-run, eh?) So a little cheat, perhaps, but my favorite “toy” what my best friend’s tree house. It was rickety, dangerous, and WONDERFUL. She lived kitty-corner to me and they had a great big maple tree in their front yard where her dad put up a fantastic swing that went out over the street, really high. Size is all wonky when I’m thinking about 7-year-old me, but I’d say somewhere around 10-15 feet up the tree the trunk split into several main branches and basically a platform (eventually with a railing that was built from parts of a fence that we tore down on our property) sat with a rope ladder up to it. We spent our summers playing in that tree house, riding our bikes, and constructing bows and arrows in the empty lot across the street. It was amazing.

Question 3: If you could have dinner with one person, past or present, who would it be?

Rosalind Franklin.

Question 4: What is your favorite era to have lived in?

The Americas, pre-European settlement by about 1000 years. If I could keep all my vaccinations.

Question 5: What are you thinking about right this second?

The fact that my disgusting dog just caught and ate a fly. I appreciate that the fly is gone, but gross. Also, I have to pee. I’m good at stream of conscience.

Question 6: What’s one of the scariest things you’ve ever done?

I climbed the hunt trail on Mt Katahdin in Maine when I was young, two times I think. There is a point on the trail when it comes out over boulders that you scramble over, right on a cliffs edge, to the point where they have stuck metal hand and foot holds directly into the rock. I remember being too short to reach and needing help and being terrified I would fall. That, or presenting my master’s thesis.

Question 7: What is your first ever memory?

I have a set of memories where I don’t know which one came first. We moved from our first home when I was just shy of four, and so all the memories I have in that house I know happened before I was four. I believe the earliest memory I have is one of chasing a little sparrow, and being absolutely *certain* that if I could just be careful and fast I could catch it. I’m not clear on what I would have done with it if I had caught it, however.

Question 8: Do you think any kind of afterlife exists?

Nope, but I don’t mind being wrong.

Question 9: What is the biggest change you’ve ever made?

Moving from Maine to Indiana to go to undergrad.

Question 10: Have you ever been in a fist fight?

Not in real life, but I have in my dreams. I usually end up finding out in my dream that I don’t know how to throw a punch. It’s very frustrating.

My questions for the next batch:

  1. How old were you the first time you fell in love?
  2. Cats or dogs?
  3. What is your favorite book or author?
  4. If you had the time to study anything in depth, what would it be?
  5. What is your favorite season and why?
  6. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
  7. Have you ever traveled abroad from whatever your country of origin is?
  8. Do you play a musical instrument?
  9. What is your favorite way to spend a weekend?
  10. Are you a planner or a doer?

And I nominate…

Taking our family from 3 to 4

My Kid Doesn’t Poop Rainbows

Making Gaybies in the Land of Zion

Hatched by Two Chicks

Two Geek Moms

Creating Space

Pot and Lid Make Kid

B’s and Babies

The Doss Family Journey

Project Tiny Human

5 thoughts on “10 things you now know about me

Leave a Reply

