9 months

Today my little bugaboo is 9 months old. I spent her morning nap packing up clothes that no longer fit and unpacking the next set of T-shirts, pants, and onesies. Mostly 18 month clothes now. I wish baby clothes were sized by weight rather than age.

image

9 months old in a slick new shirt

This week saw bedtime move to 10pm briefly, then back to 7:30 or 8pm. And another tooth has broken through! We’re up to 7 now. So far all her teeth have shown up in exactly the standard order, so I expect the next will be on the right bottom. We shall see.

In keeping with meeting milestones on months, today Darwin crawled on her hands and knees for the first time. She was playing with a bottle and it rolled away from her. She made her move, grabbed the bottle, and sat back down. She did it again this afternoon for MamaLee going after a book. And just like that we have an actually mobile baby.

The slow movement toward actual mobility has been, with the exception of teething, the most difficult part of parenthood so far. Darwin has learned to whine and utilizes this skill any time she is not moving quickly enough for her liking. I was hoping that was still a few months away. Happily, she is simultaneously gaining a sense of humor. She thinks the dog carrying toys around is hilarious. Flying from one mama to the other is cause for great laughter. Splashing in water is also very, very funny.

image

Food has become a normal part of every day now. Darwin likes variety and for the most part had eaten everything we have put in front of her. Current favorites are plums, bread, beans, puffs, and cucumbers. Oh, and olives. She loves olives. I was totally overwhelmed by feeding sola at first but I’ve come to enjoy it. Darwin gets so excited by new things that I couldn’t be stressed about it if I wanted to.

image

I’m still breastfeeding and intend to as long as Darwin wants to. She’ll go up to 5 hours sometimes when we’re or and about without nursing, but when we’re home it’s every 2 or 3 hours. Overnight she’ll nurse two or three times and we both practically sleep through it now. I’m also pumping for another mama who’s with our midwife (I think this is number 8 or 9) who just doesn’t make enough milk for her baby. Pumping an extra 30 ounces a week feels like nothing when I pass it over but it’s a lot of washing pump equipment! I’m curious as to how long I’ll be able to keep this up. Maybe I’ll just keep pumping until we have another baby in the house. Whenever that ends up being.

Anyway, I’m rambling now so clearly it’s time to hit the sack. 9 months. What a trip.

image

7 thoughts on “9 months

    • Thanks, it’s a lot of work but totally worth it. Never would have thought I’d be able to donate much!
      Her eyes are so striking, she’s got her great-Grandma’s eyes, which means her Grandma’s eyes too!

      Like

  1. She has the most charming little expressions. I love her fluffy hair! Yay for crawling! She’ll pick up speed in no time. I remember Thatcher being surprisingly fast. Too fast. 😉

    And that’s a really awesome thing you’re doing for another parent. I am sure you’re easing the burden for her more than you know!

    Happy 9 months!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

