This time last year – January

January of 2014 was a combination of shock, excitement, terror, and exhaustion. After getting the positive pregnancy tests we decided to tell a few of our family members.

We told my parents by taking them flowers and telling them they were ‘flowers for Opa’ (my dad) – it took him a minute to figure it out and when he did he turned bright red and his eyes welled up with tears. It was very sweet.

When we told my mom she got it right away. I’d been carefully avoiding any alcohol through the holidays and while my dad doesn’t tend to notice things like that, my mom is quietly perceptive. She was also very excited.

The thing about my parents is that they love being grandparents, but have always been very, very careful not to ever put anything that could even being construed as pressure on my brother or myself to have children, so it made the telling that much more fun and specially.

The following day we went to talk to MamaLee’s major professor/direct entry midwife. I remember going to her office and Leah asking to talk with her with the door closed, and she knew right away. She was so excited for us and happy to be our midwife. I was relieved to have a care provider I trusted. She also told us we would schedule our first appointment for around week 10 or 11. I remember it felt like forever away at that point – the first twelve weeks were the longest.

Throughout the this, the second month of my pregnancy, I was exhausted and crampy, which made me quite nervous and quite thrilled. I continued to do most things, including working with the youth and young adults at our UU church, working full time (although there were times I worked at night when I couldn’t drag myself out of bed in the morning – so good to have a job with flexible hours), walking the dog, and generally trying to take care of myself.

I have had chronic migraines since I was pretty young, around 7 or 8, and I knew that they would either get way better, or way worse with pregnancy. Throughout the first trimester, I continued to get migraines, some of them quiet nasty, so I tried hard to take it very easy on myself. The hardest part was that I couldn’t take any pain killers, especially during the first trimester when all the organs are forming, so when I did get them (about once a week), I had to get by with heat and cold packs and dark rooms.

I did get a photo of my belly before anything started to show, which is funny to think about. I thought about taking a photo every week, but unfortunately that just ended up not being a priority. I am glad to have a shot of what I looked like before Bug!

8 weeks (no real bump yet!)

8 weeks (no real bump yet!)

2 thoughts on “This time last year – January

  1. Have your migraines returned after the birth? I luckily didn’t get migraines while I was pregnant, but am back to 1-2 a month now. It’s terrible and has me considering becoming a professional surrogate 😉

    Like

    • I have had a couple in the last 4 months, but they have responded well to ibuprofen, so I’ve been really lucky. I also haven’t started menstruating yet, and there was definitely a hormonal component to my worst migraines, so I’m kind of holding my breath at this point.
      If I didn’t get so attached to my little parasite so quickly, and hadn’t had such a trial of a birth, I’d consider surrogacy for the health benefits of being pregnant!

      Like

Leave a Reply

