The end of the fourth trimester

Working on outgrowing the car seat

Working on outgrowing the car seat

We have officially exited the world of trimesters, and what an amazing three months it has been!

Darwin is a whopping 15 lbs, 7.5 oz, which is precisely double her birth weight. Her eyes remain the prettiest shade of blue imaginable, and (thank goodness) we have nothing to report on the tooth front.

 

She enjoys sucking on her fists, smiling at the ridiculous lengths her mom’s will go to for a grin, and studying board books like a pro. Dislikes include pacifiers (we were so hopeful for that one brief success…), waking up alone in her rock’n’play, car rides after 5 pm, and letting MamaRae sleep for more than two hours at a time (I suspect the actual dislike here is going more than 2 hours without eating – note the weight gain…).

This week I learned to tie the moby wrap (holy cow why didn’t I learn that one first!?) and my back is very grateful. Darwin likes it about 3/4ths of the time, and I like the fact that I can get her in and out easily. With a kid this big anything that makes holding her easier is a major win.

Sleeping in the Moby

Sleeping in the Moby

In other news, tomorrow MamaLee defends herMaster’s thesis (on home birth in Ireland!), so it’s an early night for me. If I start now I might get 6 or 7 hours of sleep in!

4 thoughts on “The end of the fourth trimester

    • Aw, I think so too! My sister and brother-in-law brought the hat and a little sweater when they came out over Thanksgiving – I’m so sad it’s already too small for her! So happy to see the sweet faces of your little girls this morning! They have thoroughly distracted me from getting work done. Success!

      Like

Leave a Reply

