Twelve weeks

Today our no-so-little daughter is twelve weeks old. As of last night, she weighed in at 14 lbs, 12.5 ounces, and is over 24 inches long (she’s outgrown the paper measuring tape from our home birth supply kit). She has discovered her hands and over the last couple of days has been working very hard to learn how to suck her thumb without putting her entire fist in her mouth.

12 weeks, afternoon naps!

12 weeks, afternoon naps!

The last four weeks have brought more changes in our lives. I started working again. We have had an amazing woman step up to help us out 8 hours a week, taking Darwin into her home and caring for her with all the love and tenderness we could ever hope for. My mom also has us over so I can work from her home two mornings a week, which means I can nurse the Bug and be present when I’m waiting for my programs to run (I write code to run forest growth, harvest and fire simulations). Then I work from home in the afternoons while Darwin sleeps (3-4 hours in the afternoon!). The transition has been difficult in some ways, like when I need to make up hours because Darwin decides she needs to sleep on me all afternoon, but overall, it’s great. It’s worth working in the evening or on the weekend sometimes in order to be close to my sweet girl.

12 weeks, Good Morning!

12 weeks, Good Morning!

12 weeks, I have hands!

12 weeks, I have hands!

12 weeks, so pleased!

12 weeks, so pleased!

Last week my sister and her husband flew out from New York City for the holiday. We got to spend some great quality time with them, and they got to experience the reality of a young infant for the first time. I think it’s safe to say they are smitten. I hope some day to hear about the imminent arrival of another little cousin for Dar (yes, they do want kids)! Darwin was thrilled to have more faces to look at and more people to carry her around.

Tummy time!

Tummy time!

Reindeer sleeper from Grandma.

Reindeer sleeper from Grandma.

Tigers with MamaLee

Tigers with MamaLee

Next week MamaLee’s older sister is coming to visit for the weekend. So lucky to be surrounded by so much loving family!

4 thoughts on “Twelve weeks

Leave a Reply

