Two weeks

There will be a time when I don’t count the days from Darwin’s birth, just as I stopped counting the hours, but 14 days just isn’t long enough to grasp all the amazing changes she has brought to my life.

I was expecting hard. Both my brother and I were severely colicky, as was my nephew. Many of the babies I’ve cared for over the years have cried inconsolably, and i don’t discount that we could still see that happen, but while waiting for the other shoe to drop, I’m going to bask in the glow of a very calm baby.

So far I’m getting both more and better quality sleep than I did during my 3rd trimester. I’m grateful because I can’t imagine caring for an infant on 4 hours of broken sleep a night. I also feel a little smug in the face of everyone who responded to my statements that I wasn’t sleeping while heavily pregnant with comments about how much worse it was going to be once the baby was born. For all of you who are about to become parents – sleeplessness at some level is guaranteed, but it’s not necessarily going to be horrible. In fact (surprise surprise) is kind of wonderful to wake up in the middle of the night and see those big eyes peering at me, asking for me to comfort her. I’m apparently feeling a bit moony this morning.

Anyway, amazing things at week 2: we’re well above her birth weight now. On Monday at our part partum appointment she was 7 lbs 15 oz, so I’m sure she’s in the 8 lb range at this point. No word from the metabolic screening folks, so we’re in the clear for the first half of the test. She dreams regularly and has cried and laughed during her dreams. She does not like getting the hiccups, but she doesn’t cry about it, just looks grumpy. Finally, she sleeps like a champ – 2 to 3 hour naps in the day, 2 to 3 night wakings for nursing and sometimes a diaper change.

All I keep thinking about is something I said to my mom not long after we brought Darwin home: I didn’t know babies came like this.

One thought on “Two weeks

Leave a Reply

